#Facebook vs Facetime the battle of social

Image

 

Before you start to think that I’ll be comparing Facebook (global phenomenon)  and Facetime (Apple’s clever version of Skype), I’d like to say up front and honestly this is not what my article is about.

If you have chosen to continue reading… wonderful and welcome to my thoughts.  If you were slightly disappointed, please do not despair…I think you’ll appreciate what I have to say.

Moving on… it is becoming increasingly obvious that social interactions are happening more so in a digital format, rather than face-to-face.  I think we can agree that for the most part life, work and travel has us “plugged in” at all times and I for one feel a bit weary for a re-charge in a totally different way.

How do you feel about social interactions face-to-face vs social media interactions? Is my not so obvious title starting to make sense now?    Good!

There are certain benefits to both and I’d like to list a few of the benefits of communicating in person:

  • Eye contact-essential for trust
  • Expressions-essential for communicating how you feel
  • Understanding personalities
  • Clear instructions with few misunderstandings
  • Suggestions with instant hands-on actions
  • Questions with debate in “real-time”

Now a few digital benefits:

  • Global communications
  • Aids creativity
  • Helps those who are less comfortable with face-to-face
  • Ideal for the technology industry
  • Enables flexible working

I’m sure you might add a few of your own and I would love to hear them out of interest! (This means comments are welcome)

Social technology can also save an enormous amount of time and money, when you consider the travel and preparation for professional interactions however; let us not forget that all humans need social contact to survive in this world.

Thanks for reading and I look forward to “unplugging” with all of you sometime

Hands-on 🙂

Leave a Reply

